Events

International Ecumenical Seminar

Summer Seminar

Since 1966, the Institute has offered annual Summer Seminars in Strasbourg to share the findings and breakthroughs of the ecumenical movement with a wider audience. Over the course of more than five decades, the Summer Seminars have explored an incredibly rich range of subjects, from Mary, liturgy, and the sacraments to ethics, church-state relations, and mission. Participants from Europe and farther abroad gather for a week of lectures offered by specialists in their fields, as well as daily prayer, shared meals, and an outing into the Alsatian countryside, complete with wine tasting and museum visiting.

Summer Seminar 2023: "Communion of Churches"

Summer Seminars

55th International Ecumenical Seminar 2023 on the topic of „Communion of Churches“

Dates: July 5 - 12, 2023, in Strasbourg. In the Apostles' Creed, we confess that we believe in the “communion of saints.” But we also speak of a "communion of ...

54th International Ecumenical Seminar

Modern societies are pluralistic – not only, but also, in a religious sense. The three great monotheistic religions of Judaism, Christianity and Islam in particular often occur within the same countries and live together. ...

53rd International Ecumenical Seminar 2019: Doctrine divides - Spirituality unites?

The topic of this yeaar's International Ecumenical Seminar organized by the Institute for Ecumenical Reserch in Strasbourg from July 3 to 10 was: "Doctrine divides - Spirituality unites". ...

Study Course

“To be Lutheran is to be ecumenical." This is how the Lutheran World Federation formulates this prominent self-commitment of Lutheran identity. In contrast, ecumenical theology is rarely taught at universities or theological training centers to the degree that it is needed.

Therefore, the Ecumenical Institute offers an "Ecumenical Study Course" at regular intervals. The target group is Lutheran theologians, usually pastors or advanced students with a good knowledge of Lutheran theology. Endorsement by one’s church is a prerequisite for participation.

The study course introduces the basic questions of ecumenism on the one hand, and the theory and practice of the dialogues on the other, by means of texts and the results of dialogues significant in recent ecumenical history -- in most of which the Institute has been involved -- and reflects on them against the background of Lutheran theology and the experiences of the participants.

The exchange about one's own ecumenical experiences and the situation in one’s home churche is an important part of the study course, which thus contributes not only to the theological work but also to the interconnectedness of the worldwide communion of the LWF.

Conferences in Cooperation

Seminar „Studying Luther in Wittenberg”

In cooperation with the Institute for Ecumenical Research, the LWF Center in Wittenberg offers a two-week "Studying Luther in Wittenberg" seminar every November. The idea is to bring together a limited group (maximum 20) of Lutheran pastors from around the world to be a living study community getting to know Martin Luther’s theology better through his writings and discussing what his message means today in the Lutheran churches of the world.

Newsletter

In our Newsletter we inform you about interesting events and other news from our Institute.

Donate

You can support the activities of the Institute and sponsor individual projects through our sponsoring association (Förderverein).

EN

Veranstaltungen

Internationales Ökumenisches Seminar

Sommerseminar

Seit 1966 veranstaltet das Institut internationale ökumenische Sommerseminare in Strasbourg, um die Ergebnisse und Durchbrüche der ökumenischen Bewegung einem weiteren Publikum mitzuteilen. In über fünf Jahrzehnten haben die Sommerseminare eine große Reihe von Themen behandelt, wie Maria, Liturgie, Sakramente, Ethik, Beziehungen zwischen Kirche und Staat sowie Mission. Teilnehmer aus der ganzen Welt versammeln sich während einer Woche, um Vorträge von Fachleuten zu hören. Es gibt gemeinsame Andachten, vorzügliches Essen und einen Ausflug ins Elsass, zu dem ein Museumsbesuch und eine Weinprobe gehören.

Sommerseminar 2022: “Getrennt vereint: Ökumene im digitalen Raum.”

Sommerseminare

55. Internationales Ökumenisches Seminar 2022 abgesagt

Zu unserem großen Bedauern kann das vom 4.-8. Juli 2022 geplante Sommerseminar aufgrund der veränderten personellen Situation im Institut nicht stattfinden. Wir hoffen, dass wir im Jahr 2023 wieder eine ...

55. Internationales Ökumenisches Seminar 2022

Getrennt vereint – Ökumene im digitalen Raum. Der Megatrend der Digitalisierung beeinflusst alle Bereiche der Gesellschaft. Arbeitsformen, Begegnungen, das Alltagsleben … werden weltweit mehr und mehr auf digitale Abläufe umgestellt. ...

54. Internationales Ökumenisches Seminar 2021

Ökumenischer und interreligiöser Dialog. Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede. Moderne Gesellschaften sind plural – nicht nur, aber auch in religiöser Hinsicht. Gerade die drei großen monotheistischen Religionen Judentum, Christentum und Islam kommen ...

53. Internationles Ökumenisches Seminar 2019: Lehre trennt – Spiritualität eint?

Das Thema des diesjährigen internationalen ökumenischen Sommerseminars, das das Institut für Ökumenische Forschung in Strasbourg vom 3. bis 10. Juli veranstaltete, lautete: „Lehre trennt – Spiritualität eint?“ In seinem Einführungsvortrag ...

Studienkurs

"Lutherisch sein heißt ökumenisch zu sein". So formuliert es der Lutherische Weltbund als prominente Selbstverpflichtung lutherischer Identität. Demgegenüber wird Ökumenische Theologie an Universitäten oder theologischen Ausbildungsstätten nur selten in der wünschenswerten Breite gelehrt.

Daher bietet das Ökumenische Institut in regelmäßigen Abständen den "Ökumenischen Studienkurs" an. Zielgruppe sind lutherische Theologen, in der Regel Pastoren und Pastorinnen oder fortgeschrittene Studierende mit guten Kenntnissen der lutherischen Theologie. Die Beauftragung durch die jeweilige Kirche ist Teilnahmevoraussetzung.

Der Studienkurs führt anhand von Texten und kirchengeschichtlich bedeutsamen Dialogergebnissen -- an denen das Institut meist beteiligt war -- in die Grundfragen der Ökumene einerseits, in Theorie und Praxis der Dialoge andererseits ein und reflektiert diese auf dem Hintergrund der lutherischen Theologie und der Erfahrungen der Teilnehmer.

Der Austausch über die eigenen ökumenischen Erfahrungen und die Situation in den jeweiligen Heimatkirchen ist wichtiger Bestandteil des Studienkurses, der so neben der theologischen Arbeit auch zur Vernetzung innerhalb der weltweiten Gemeinschaft des LWB beiträgt.

Kooperationstagungen

Seminar „Studying Luther in Wittenberg”

In Zusammenarbeit des Instituts für Ökumenische Forschung mit dem LWB Zentrum Wittenberg werden die Seminare „Studying Luther in Wittenberg“ jedes Jahr im November als zweiwöchiges Seminar angeboten. Der Gedanke ist, eine begrenzte Gruppe (maximal 20) lutherische Pfarrerinnen und Pfarrer aus der ganzen Welt für diese Zeit in Wittenberg zu einer Lebens- und Studiengemeinschaft zusammenzubringen, um Martin Luther in seinen Schriften besser kennenzulernen und miteinander zu erörtern, was seine Botschaft heute in den verschiedenen lutherischen Kirchen bedeuten könnte.

Newsletter

In unserem Newsletter informieren wir Sie über interessante Veranstaltungen und andere Neuigkeiten aus unserem Institut.

Spenden

Über unseren Förderverein können Sie die Tätigkeiten des Instituts unterstützen und einzelne Projekte fördern.

DE